Shakopee Implied Consent Lawyer

Implied consent is one of the most misunderstood concepts related to DWI/DUI in Minnesota. By obtaining and having a driver's license you are consenting to field sobriety and breath tests if you are pulled over by a law enforcement officer who has reasonable suspicion that you are driving while intoxicated. By failing to allow testing to proceed you are placing your driving privileges at risk.

At Loftness Law Office in Shakopee, I provide skilled representation to individuals in the southwest metro and surrounding communities who face charges related to a DWI test refusal. I focus on resolving the criminal, administrative and collateral consequences my clients face as a result of a DWI arrest.

The Consequences of a Breath Test Refusal in Minnesota

Refusing a blood or breath test results in a minimum civil penalty of a one-year license revocation. That is in additional to a criminal penalty that could be as much as a $3,000 fine and 12 months in jail. In most cases, it is better for individuals without a previous offense on their record to consent to the tests rather than refuse.

As a Shakopee implied consent attorney, I focus on negotiating charges down to the minimum in order to mitigate the serious consequences facing my clients. The difference between the minimum and maximum civil and criminal penalties can make a dramatic difference for your qualify of life. It may even be possible to challenge whether your actions actually constitute a refusal under Minnesota's implied consent laws.

Scott County Breathalyzer Refusal Attorney

If you have refused a sobriety test, you must act quickly to have a chance at safeguarding yourself against the harshest consequences. The first step is speaking to an experienced lawyer. Contact me today for a free initial consultation to discuss your defense options.